## **RGC Open Meeting Minutes October 9, 2019**

September 19<sup>th</sup> Open Minutes and the September 24<sup>th</sup> Special Meeting have been approved and are posted.

## Meeting Called to Order at 6:34

**Board Members Present**: Dennis Foxx, Gary Krohn, Paul Wilson, Dave Arellano, Tim Turnquist, Ron Floyd, Jesse Sierra, Bryan Lange, Steve Hiett, Harry Wharff, Steve Hitchcock, Paul Christianson, Steve Taylor, Charlie Aichele, John Parola,

## **Board Members Absent:**

**President's Report** – Dennis Foxx called the meeting to order and reopened the Open meeting from September 19<sup>th</sup>. He summarized the guidelines on the code of conduct that was expected when attending an Open meeting. Dennis reminded members that since the Palmer tees were voted down at the last Open meeting, members will choose to play from the blue tees or the white tees for the 2020 season.

Charlie addressed those in attendance and withdrew his motion that was made from the previous meeting.

Dennis explained to those in attendance that in order to propose changes to the bylaws, playing procedures, tournament guide, or local rules, a motion must be made as new business at an open meeting that the Board review the proposal, and if it is to be voted on, the general membership must be notified prior to a vote at another open meeting. Any such changes would require a 2/3 vote. The Board unanimously passed a tentative motion that this process be followed in the future at its October Board Meeting.

A member asked a question regarding Robert's Rules, points of order, and whether the members and board must vote on an issue, simply because one member makes a motion that is seconded. Dennis pointed out that there is no obligation to follow parliamentary procedure at RGC meetings. It is not stated in the bylaws that we must, and there is no other authority requiring it. If the members or Board desire parliamentary procedure, it should be voted on as a change to the bylaws. The RGC president presides over meetings, and non-agenda items are addressed under new business.

Dennis reviewed that the purpose of the meeting was to elect the 2020 Board Members.

The updated Board of Officers ballot was prepared. All positions ran unopposed with the only exception being the Members at Large. Four members ran for two spots. The ballots were handed out and the votes were collected and tallied.

The results included: President – Steve Hiett

Vice-President – Dave Arellano Secretary – Paul Wilson Tournament Bookkeeper – Harry Wharff Treasurer – Paul Christianson Members at Large – Steve Hitchcock and Frank Serra

Meeting Adjourned at 7:10.